What is Medicare?

  • Medicare is a national health insurance program.
  • You're entitled to Medicare if you are at least 65 and a U.S. citizen, or a permanent legal resident for the past five years.
  • Medicare also covers
    • Some people with disabilities under age 65.
    • People who receive Social Security disability insurance usually become eligible for Medicare after being disabled for 2 years consecutively, although those with end-stage renal disease (permanent kidney failure) and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis )ALS) can become eligible immediately.

Medicare has four parts:

Part A helps pay for:

  • Inpatient Hospital Stay
  • Skilled Nursing Care
  • Hospice
  • Home Care

Part B helps pay for:

  • Doctor Visits
  • Surgery
  • Lab Tests
  • Medical Equipment
  • Preventive Exams

Part C

Medicare Advantage Plan

Medicare Advantage, also known as Medicare Part C, is a type of health plan offered by private insurance companies that provides the benefits of Parts A and Part B and often Part D (prescription drug coverage) as well. These bundled plans may have additional coverage, such as vision, hearing and dental care. Unlike Original Medicare, Medicare Advantage plans have an annual limit on out-of-pocket costs. Medicare Advantage plans are typically HMOs or PPOs and are available only in certain areas.

Part D

Prescriptions Drugs

Helps with the cost of prescription drugs not covered by Original Medicare.

Know when to sign up

Watch our video guide about Medicare

Get clear and simple information about Medicare and how it works, the different types of plans available, enrollment and more.

Where can I find out more?

Get advice from MemorialCare Medicare specialists. You don’t have to figure it out on your own. Get answers to all of your Medicare questions.