Comedian Bill Engvall Joins Long Beach Memorial’s 6th Annual “Dancing for Our Stars” Gala as Judge

Dancing for Our Stars 2012

Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum selling recording artist and one of the top comedians in the country, Bill Engvall, joins the Memorial Medical Center Foundation’s panel of judges for its 6th Annual “Dancing For Our Stars” Gala.

Based on the television series Dancing with the Stars, the “Dancing for Our Stars” Gala pairs six community members with professional dancers or their significant other to entertain the audience and compete in a dance competition all while supporting a good cause. This gala, unique in and of itself, raises funds not through live and silent auctions, but by collecting votes from the crowd. 

Engvall appeared on the 17th season of ABC’s Dancing with the Stars and as a fan favorite, he made it to the finals. He joins Justin Rudd, Jeanna Mingram and Jeff Severson as a judge for the Gala. In his role as a judge, Engvall will comment on each dancer’s performance and offer advice from his experience.

“We are thrilled to have Bill Engvall join our panel of judges for this year’s Gala,” says Michele Roeder, director, Memorial Medical Center Foundation, Long Beach Memorial. “Our incredible line up of dancers along with our judges and special hosts, Supervisor Don Knabe and his wife Julie, are helping raise funds for a great cause – the No. 1 killer of men and women – heart disease.”

To expand cardiology care in Long Beach, the MemorialCare Heart & Vascular Institute at Long Beach Memorial is this year’s beneficiary of the Gala. Proceeds from Dancing For Our Stars, will help the Heart Institute complete its state-of-the-art hybrid suite. The hybrid suite combines the functions of catheterization laboratories and operating rooms with the most advanced imaging technology to provide the highest quality heart care.

The 6th Annual “Dancing for Our Stars” Gala is on Saturday, Feb. 1 at the Long Beach Arena. Dancers include Jorge Kamburis and Mary Yeo; Margaret and Ron Malouf, DDS; Nancy Piazza; Naomi Rainey; and Carl Ann and Don Wylie. Equal weight will be given to the pre-event fundraising, event night fundraising and judges’ scores to crown the overall winner. Once the winner is announced, all attendees will be invited to the dance floor to strut their stuff.